Items tagged with Book clubs

Pages Through the Ages Discussion: "American Mirror: The Life and Art of Norman Rockwell"

Please see full event listing for date.

To compliment the Westport Historical Society’s exhibit about George Hand Wright, discuss American Mirror: The Life and Art of Norman Rockwell by Deborah Solomon. George Hand Wright was an illustrator who moved to Westport in 1907 during the Golden Age of Illustration. he was not a part of the Famous Artist School (that's in the 1940s), but he was definitely central to the artist community that was growing at the turn of the century. He worked in pastel and watercolors as well as etching.

As the star illustrator of The Saturday Evening Post for nearly half a century, Norman Rockwell mingled fact and fiction in paintings that reflected the we-the-people, communitarian ideals of American democracy. Freckled Boy Scouts and their mutts, sprightly grandmothers, a young man standing up to speak at a town hall meeting, a little black girl named Ruby Bridges walking into an all-white school―here was an America whose citizens seemed to believe in equality and gladness for all.

For copies of the book, phone 203.291.4821.
Community partner: Westport Historical Society

Brooks Place
Book Groups

Pages Through the Ages Discussion: "The President Is a Sick Man"

Please see full event listing for date.

Discuss The President Is a Sick Man: Wherein the Supposedly Virtuous Grover Cleveland Survives a Secret Surgery at Sea and Vilifies the Courageous Newspaperman Who Dared Expose the Truth by Matthew Algeo.

On July 1, 1893, President Grover Cleveland boarded a friend’s yacht and was not heard from for five days. During that time, a team of doctors removed a cancerous tumor from the president’s palate along with much of his upper jaw. When an enterprising reporter named E. J. Edwards exposed the secret operation, Cleveland denied it and Edwards was consequently dismissed as a disgrace to journalism. Twenty-four years later, one of the president’s doctors finally revealed the incredible truth, but many Americans simply would not believe it. After all, Grover Cleveland’s political career was built upon honesty—his most memorable quote was “Tell the truth”—so it was nearly impossible to believe he was involved in such a brazen cover-up. This is the first full account of the disappearance of Grover Cleveland during that summer more than a century ago.

Location: Westport Historical Society, 25 Avery Place

For copies of the book, phone 203.291.4821.

Westport Historical Society
Book Groups

PageTurners Book Discussion

Please see full event listing for date.

Discuss Saints for All Occasions by J. Courtney Sullivan. Nora and Theresa Flynn are twenty-one and seventeen when they leave their small village in Ireland and journey to America. Nora is the responsible sister; she’s shy and serious and engaged to a man she isn’t sure that she loves. Theresa is gregarious; she is thrilled by their new life in Boston and besotted with the fashionable dresses and dance halls on Dudley Street. But when Theresa ends up pregnant, Nora is forced to come up with a plan—a decision with repercussions they are both far too young to understand.

A New York Times Critics’ Top Book of 2017
Washington Post 10 Best Books of 2017
A Harper’s Bazaar Best Book of 2017 

PageTurners Book Club page

For copies of the book, phone 203.291.4821. New participants always welcome. Information on more Library book groups.

McCall Room
Book Groups

PageTurners Book Discussion

Please see full event listing for date.

Discuss Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens. For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens. Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell.

"A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature....Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders—and dangers—of her private world."—The New York Times Book Review

PageTurners Book Club page

For copies of the book, phone 203.291.4821. New participants always welcome. Information on more Library book groups.

McCall Room
Book Groups

PageTurners Book Discussion

Please see full event listing for date.

Discuss The Radium Girls: The Dark Story of America's Shining Women by Kate Moore. This book fully illuminates the inspiring young women exposed to the "wonder" substance of radium and their awe-inspiring strength in the face of almost impossible circumstances. Their courage and tenacity led to life-changing regulations, research into nuclear bombing, and ultimately saved hundreds of thousands of lives. "The glowing ghosts of the radium girls haunt us still."—NPR Books

PageTurners Book Club page

For copies of the book, phone 203.291.4821. New participants always welcome. Information on more Library book groups.

McCall Room
Book Groups

PageTurners Book Discussion

Please see full event listing for date.

Discuss Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate. Based on one of America’s most notorious real-life scandals—in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country—Lisa Wingate’s riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong.

PageTurners Book Club page

For copies of the book, phone 203.291.4821. New participants always welcome. Information on more Library book groups.

McCall Room
Book Groups

PageTurners Book Discussion

Please see full event listing for date.

Discuss The Last Ballad by Wiley Cash. The New York Times bestselling author of A Land More Kind Than Home and This Dark Road to Mercy returns with his new novel, set in the Appalachian foothills of North Carolina in 1929 and inspired by actual events. Cash tells the story of an ordinary woman’s struggle for dignity and her rights in a textile mill.  He brings to life the heartbreak and bravery of the now forgotten struggle of the labor movement in early 20th century America. The Last Ballad is a moving tale of courage in the face of oppression and injustice.

PageTurners Book Club page

For copies of the book, phone 203.291.4821. New participants always welcome. Information on more Library book groups.

McCall Room
Book Groups

PageTurners Book Discussion

Please see full event listing for date.

Discuss Dear Mrs. Bird: A Novel by A.J. Pearce. This charming, irresistible debut novel is set in London during World War II  and is about an adventurous young woman, who want to become a war correspondent but winds up as a secret advice columnist—a warm, funny, and enormously moving story that gives a fresh look at women’s lives in wartime Britain. For fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls.

PageTurners Book Club page

For copies of the book, phone 203.291.4821. New participants always welcome. Information on more Library book groups.

McCall Room
Book Groups

History Book Discussion: D Day: June 6, 1944

Please see full event listing for date.

D Day: June 6, 1944: The Climactic Battle of World War II by Stephen E. Ambrose is the definitive history of World War II’s most pivotal battle, a day that changed the course of history.

D-Day is the epic story of men at the most demanding moment of their lives, when the horrors, complexities, and triumphs of life are laid bare. Distinguished historian Stephen E. Ambrose portrays the faces of courage and heroism, fear and determination—what Eisenhower called “the fury of an aroused democracy”—that shaped the victory of the citizen soldiers whom Hitler had disparaged. Drawing on more than 1,400 interviews with American, British, Canadian, French, and German veterans, Ambrose reveals how the original plans for the invasion had to be abandoned, and how enlisted men and junior officers acted on their own initiative when they realized that nothing was as they were told it would be.

Location: Westport Historical Society, 25 Avery Place

For copies of the book, phone 203.291.4821.

Other
Book Groups

History Book Discussion: Revolutionary Russia 1891-1991

Please see full event listing for date.

In Revolutionary Russia, 1891-1991: A History, Orlando Figes offers a new perspective on the Russian Revolution. While other historians have focused their examinations on the cataclysmic years immediately before and after 1917, Figes shows how the revolution, while it changed in form and character, nevertheless retained the same idealistic goals throughout, from its origins in the famine crisis of 1891 until its end with the collapse of the Soviet regime in 1991. Until the very end of the Soviet system, its leaders believed they were carrying out the revolution Lenin had begun.

Location: Westport Historical Society, 25 Avery Place

For copies of the book, phone 203.291.4821.

Other
Book Groups