Items tagged with Book clubs

PageTurners Book Discussion

Please see full event listing for date.

Discuss The Last Ballad by Wiley Cash. The New York Times bestselling author of A Land More Kind Than Home and This Dark Road to Mercy returns with his new novel, set in the Appalachian foothills of North Carolina in 1929 and inspired by actual events. Cash tells the story of an ordinary woman’s struggle for dignity and her rights in a textile mill.  He brings to life the heartbreak and bravery of the now forgotten struggle of the labor movement in early 20th century America. The Last Ballad is a moving tale of courage in the face of oppression and injustice.

PageTurners Book Club page

For copies of the book, phone 203.291.4821. New participants always welcome. Information on more Library book groups.

Room 216 (McCall Room)
Book Groups

PageTurners Book Discussion

Please see full event listing for date.

Discuss Dear Mrs. Bird: A Novel by A.J. Pearce. This charming, irresistible debut novel is set in London during World War II  and is about an adventurous young woman, who want to become a war correspondent but winds up as a secret advice columnist—a warm, funny, and enormously moving story that gives a fresh look at women’s lives in wartime Britain. For fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls.

PageTurners Book Club page

For copies of the book, phone 203.291.4821. New participants always welcome. Information on more Library book groups.

Room 216 (McCall Room)
Book Groups

History Book Discussion: D Day: June 6, 1944

Please see full event listing for date.

D Day: June 6, 1944: The Climactic Battle of World War II by Stephen E. Ambrose is the definitive history of World War II’s most pivotal battle, a day that changed the course of history.

D-Day is the epic story of men at the most demanding moment of their lives, when the horrors, complexities, and triumphs of life are laid bare. Distinguished historian Stephen E. Ambrose portrays the faces of courage and heroism, fear and determination—what Eisenhower called “the fury of an aroused democracy”—that shaped the victory of the citizen soldiers whom Hitler had disparaged. Drawing on more than 1,400 interviews with American, British, Canadian, French, and German veterans, Ambrose reveals how the original plans for the invasion had to be abandoned, and how enlisted men and junior officers acted on their own initiative when they realized that nothing was as they were told it would be.

Location: Westport Historical Society, 25 Avery Place

For copies of the book, phone 203.291.4821.

Other
Book Groups

History Book Discussion: Revolutionary Russia 1891-1991

Please see full event listing for date.

In Revolutionary Russia, 1891-1991: A History, Orlando Figes offers a new perspective on the Russian Revolution. While other historians have focused their examinations on the cataclysmic years immediately before and after 1917, Figes shows how the revolution, while it changed in form and character, nevertheless retained the same idealistic goals throughout, from its origins in the famine crisis of 1891 until its end with the collapse of the Soviet regime in 1991. Until the very end of the Soviet system, its leaders believed they were carrying out the revolution Lenin had begun.

Location: Westport Historical Society, 25 Avery Place

For copies of the book, phone 203.291.4821.

Other
Book Groups

History Book Discussion: Paul Revere's Ride

Please see full event listing for date.

Paul Revere's Ride by David Hackett Fischer. One of the foremost American historians offers the first serious look at the events of the night of April 18, 1775—what led up to it, what really happened, and what followed—uncovering a truth far more remarkable than the myths of tradition.

For copies of the book, phone 203.291.4821.

Program Room
Book Groups

History Book Discussion: Triangle: The Fire That Changed America

Please see full event listing for date.

Triangle: The Fire That Changed America by David von Drehle is a poignantly detailed account of the 1911 disaster that horrified the country and changed the course of twentieth-century politics and labor relations.

For copies of the book, phone 203.291.4821.

Program Room
Book Groups

PageTurners Book Discussion

Please see full event listing for date.

Discuss Educated by Tara Westover. Educated is an account of the struggle for self-invention. It is a tale of fierce family loyalty, and of the grief that comes from severing one's closest ties. With the acute insight that distinguishes all great writers, Westover has crafted a universal coming-of-age story that gets to the heart of what an education is and what it offers: the perspective to see one's life through new eyes, and the will to change it. (Publisher)

PageTurners Book Club page

For copies of the book, phone 203.291.4821. New participants always welcome. Information on more Library book groups.

Program Room
Book Groups

PageTurners Book Discussion

Please see full event listing for date.

Discuss Winter Garden by Kristin Hannah. Meredith and Nina Whitson are as different as sisters can be. One stayed at home to raise her children and manage the family apple orchard; the other followed a dream and traveled the world to become a famous photojournalist. But when their beloved father falls ill, Meredith and Nina find themselves together again, standing alongside their cold, disapproving mother, Anya, who even now, offers no comfort to her daughters. As children, the only connection between them was the Russian fairy tale Anya sometimes told the girls at night. On his deathbed, their father extracts a promise from the women in his life: the fairy tale will be told one last time--and all the way to the end. Thus begins an unexpected journey into the truth of Anya's life in war-torn Leningrad, more than five decades ago. Alternating between the past and present, Meredith and Nina will finally hear the singular, harrowing story of their mother's life, and what they learn is a secret so terrible and terrifying that it will shake the very foundation of their family and change who they believe they are. (Publisher)

PageTurners Book Club page

For copies of the book, phone 203.291.4821. New participants always welcome. Information on more Library book groups.

Program Room
Book Groups

PageTurners Book Discussion

Please see full event listing for date.

Discuss Pachinko by Min Jin Lee. Richly told and profoundly moving, Pachinko is a story of love, sacrifice, ambition, and loyalty. From bustling street markets to the halls of Japan's finest universities to the pachinko parlors of the criminal underworld, Lee's complex and passionate characters--strong, stubborn women, devoted sisters and sons, fathers shaken by moral crisis--survive and thrive against the indifferent arc of history. (Goodreads)

PageTurners Book Club page

For copies of the book, phone 203.291.4821. New participants always welcome. Information on more Library book groups.

Program Room
Book Groups

Sybil Steinberg's New Book Picks

Please see full event listing for date.

Sybil Steinberg Westporter Sybil Steinberg, contributing editor and former book review section editor for Publishers Weekly, returns with more ideas for your fall and winter reading with her ever-popular talk on the best new reads.

Trefz Forum
Talks & Readings